100 Inspiring Ways to Use Social Media in the Classroom

I recently came across this website and was drawn in by the title “100 Inspiring Ways to Use Social Media in the Classroom“. This topic reinforced all of the concepts that my peers and I have been learning in our Introduction to Computers in the Classroom course. There were many great ideas of how to connect your class through social media, including entering into other classrooms through Skype, taking a virtual field trip, blogging, and collaborating with other professionals in the field. Another idea about how to use social media in the classroom that I found to be very creative was “Making Literature Real” by creating a Facebook page for a character in a novel. I never would have considered doing this in my own practice as a teacher, but this webpage allowed me to view how one teacher succeeded! He posted the task on his classroom blog, which can be viewed here.

Which ideas stuck out to you? Do you have any other ideas of how to use social media in the classroom?  I would love to hear from you!

Below is a picture of a “Facebook Bulletin” that I found while searching Pinterest for some new resources. Would you use this idea in your classroom?

3 thoughts on “100 Inspiring Ways to Use Social Media in the Classroom

  1. Wow, Thank you for sharing this website. So many cool ideas! I would use some of these in my classroom because I think that if these social media tools are so popular why not embrace them in your classroom. Children are using these resources already so I think it is beneficial to incorporate them in the classroom because the children are interested in them!!

    I really like the Facebook bulletin board! So neat.

  2. I immediately bookmarked that page. I can’t wait to use some of those ideas in my classroom. i wish my teachers had had these kinds of resources when I was younger. I love the idea of the facebook bulletin board. It is definitely something that will make people stop and look in the hallway. I really like that people are able to actually write and leave messages to the class. The board is very interactive and shows some of what happens in the class through pictures, not just a display of student artwork.

Leave a Reply

